april 21, 2013 – may 2, 2015

I hate the way periods sneak up on you, when you’re just carrying on with life and then suddenly, you have to change out of your favourite comfy underwear because dammit, it came. That was me yesterday, although I actually waited until the end of the day because I wasn’t actually sure it had returned.

I was certain that I had many more months to go before having to deal with it again. After all, following Raspberry’s birth, my period didn’t return until she was almost two (I must admit that until I re-read that post last night, I’d always thought she was two-and-a-half, almost three when my period came back. What it really was was that I was sans period for that long, pregnancy included). Instead, I lasted all of fifteen months plus pregnancy.

I was in denial most of the day, since I was only spotting. The thought that perhaps the mild streaks of red might be symptomatic of some greater condition rather than merely being menstrual blood did cross my mind and I wildly extrapolated to having to call the doctor to figure it out. By the evening however, I was resigned to the fact that [sigh] it was just my period. A call to the doctor would just be ridiculous. “Nooooooooooo!” I howled to no one in particular, and grudgingly excavated a cloth pad out of the depths of my underwear drawer. I have a brand new menstrual cup to christen but I waited until today to use it as I’m a cup virgin.

Lucas suggests that maybe it’s because Ares doesn’t nurse as often as Raspberry did. Who knows? The body works in mysterious ways. I suppose having my period again means my hormones are perhaps back to normal though? It does explain the rather sudden, pleasantly unexpected return of my libido in recent weeks. Putting two and two together in hindsight, it makes sense and had I known better, I would’ve anticipated the imminent arrival of my period. If I was really good, I might’ve even pinpointed it down to the day (ha!), but I’m not. Unlike some, I’m not one to celebrate my menstruation as I find it more of an annoyance than anything, but I suppose I’m glad for the return of certain normal aspects. Welcome back, shedding uterus. You weren’t missed.

One response

  1. Anonymous

    My period also just came back! After 4 months!! It was really nice not having one, TBH. Oh well!

    Here’s to shedding uterii.

    May 12, 2015 at 4:48 am

Leave a Reply

