the hiatus is over!

I’ve had this blog for eleven years (!!) and I think this is the longest it’s ever been on hiatus, and an unplanned one, at that. Previous sporadic hiatuses have only been a month or so, I think.

This past year, especially following Ares’ birth, I’ve been making more of an effort to write in a proper notebook and while I find that does help with writing here, lately I haven’t been able to juggle doing both, especially when I’m exhausted at the end of the day, which is just about the only time I have to myself.

That said, the hiatus has come about due to a number of things, one being the lack of time to actually sit down, post-process my images and write. Since the late summer, we’ve taken quite a number of trips and I’ve been meaning to write about each one and post the accompanying images, but surprise, surprise, it’s piled up on me! The past month has also seen me felled by some typical cold weather illness (I’m not even really sure what I had), which has meant going to bed much earlier than I normally would (practically unheard of, when it comes to me!).

Also, back in September, the laptop crashed, taking with it all my images from 2014. Stupid me failed to back them up and now, I’ve crossing my fingers that they can be recovered, especially the ones of Ares’ birth and early days. We’ve tried one mode of data recovery but the hard drive isn’t clicking at all, so it needs to be physically opened up. It’s the second time I’ve lost my images (baby pictures!) so I’m more than a bit sore about it, but I’m still optimistic that the files can be recovered. At least we’re financially able to get the hard drive fixed right now, although I’m not sure when that will actually happen.

Anyhow, I’m hoping this post is the little kick I need to revive this blog and get back into the mindset of sharing my writing and images. Here’s to rejuvenating this space!

2 responses

  1. Welcome back. I had my last LJ account for a little over ten years. This new one is still so fresh it feels awkward. I like your Calm Down Calm Down mug.

    November 24, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    • :)

      I’ve always thought about starting a new blog, as I’m not especially keen on a username I picked so long ago, but I have a tough time letting go of all the history (which is why I have a WordPress blog under my name, with all the LJ entries migrated over!).

      I like the mug too, although it’s not mine. This was taken at a friend’s house. :)

      November 24, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Leave a Reply

