march 2008 – january 10, 2014

After almost six years of cosleeping, Lucas and I finally have the bed to ourselves… temporarily. With the baby coming (four days to its due date!), it’s simply impossible for two adults, one kid and one baby to sleep in our double bed. Actually, even with Raspberry, Lucas and I, it’s a tight squeeze. I was the buffer who slept between them, because Raspberry seemed to like kicking Lucas in his crotch in the middle of the night. She’d also roll into me, so I’d be skull-to-skull with her or I’d have a kid skull buried in the middle of my back. Good times. Really, if we’d found a two-bedroom apartment when we moved here, she would’ve had her own bed a year ago.

It’s kinda funny because when we first had Raspberry, we’d never intended to co-sleep (in hindsight, other than having the sling and breastfeeding, we had planned more conventional methods of parenting at the time… ha, how things have changed). Rather, we had a moses basket beside our bed but as anyone who’s had a newborn knows, once you put a sleeping baby down, they wake right up. Lucas often says the cat spent more time in the bassinet than Raspberry did (“it was furry!”). We used to have to put stuff in the basket so Avy wouldn’t jump in. But really, the real reason why she ended up in bed with us was because I absolutely dreaded waking in the middle of the night to nurse. I used to sit there, propped up against the wall, practically falling asleep while newborn Raspberry night-nursed. Then Lucas suggested we bring her into bed and while I was hesitant at first (“I might squish her!”), it worked out amazingly for all of us and we all managed to wake well-rested. Of course, at that time I didn’t know that our foray into co-sleeping would last this long.

Saving us the headache of finding a bed, April lent us a single bed that she got for her friend’s temporary stay in the UK and last month, Raspberry picked out her own sheets during a rare trip to Ikea and voila, we were all set. She was quite excited about getting her own bed, particularly about the fact that she’d be able to have any number of her stuffed friends there with her, an impossibility when she slept with us.

Raspberry’s only been in her new bed for ten days, and she’s still transitioning. Sometimes, she’ll wake up in the middle of the night and say she’s lonely, even though we’re in the same room as her, our beds separated only by a nightstand. In the mornings after Lucas has gotten up, she’ll often come into bed with me. I find that having her in bed with us calms her. One night last week, she woke up crying a number of times, saying her ear hurt because I’d just cleaned her ears that day and perhaps accidentally did so a bit roughly (oops!). We brought her into bed with us and she was able to sleep through the rest of the night. Last night though, she came into our bed and with Avy sleeping by Lucas’ head (now that there’s enough room, the cat has made her way back into bed with us), there was definitely little wiggle room. In my groggy, half-conscious state, I’d figured that with the baby coming any day now, it was all right to have her in bed for one night, as we won’t be able to do that with a newborn.

I’ll admit that although I relish the extra space, I do sometimes miss snuggling up to Raspberry, so I certainly don’t mind her being in bed with me in the morning. Oh, and not to mention the extra heat a third body creates too. Anyway! I should just enjoy the temporary cosleeping break for now, as I’m not sure how long it’ll last for. It’s nice to be able to stretch out… well, as much stretching out as one can do with a almost fully-baked fetus!

2 responses

  1. Cute bedding!

    How has she been in her bed now that her sibling’s arrived?

    February 3, 2014 at 9:56 pm

    • It’s this one: http://www.ikea.com/gb/en/catalog/products/60229938/

      She’s been in her bed the whole time since the baby’s arrived, so I think that transition’s worked out. She’s been acting up quite a bit lately. I think she’s still transitioning from being an only child to one of two. She probably needs some more attention at times… we’re working on it.

      February 8, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Leave a Reply

