meeting elo

I’ve been on the Internet since high school and in all the time I’ve befriended people online, I don’t think I’ve actually met any of them in person. This is mostly due to geography and the pesky cost of travelling long distances. And I’ll admit, there’s also a tinge of nervousness about meeting someone you’ve only ever known online, not so much for the possible serial killer tendencies, but I think for me that’s just the social anxiety I feel about meeting new people in general.

A week and a bit ago however, I finally did get a chance to meet Elo, with whom I’ve been Livejournal friends for a number of years. She lives in Spain and her sisters reside in Liverpool and she was visiting for a couple of days, so we met up for coffee at Leaf.

It was wonderful to meet her and we chatted easily. Raspberry also really enjoyed her company. Elo had her sign a Christmas card, which she did with a self-portrait and an antlerless reindeer, and also showed her how to make a paper boat as well as how to write the infinity sign. At the end of it all, I wished it wasn’t time to go, as I really enjoyed our few hours together. It’d be great to meet her in Spain one day, and with our currently amorphous plan to travel more this upcoming year, perhaps that’ll happen sooner than later.

6 responses

  1. That’s very cool. I also had a nice experience meeting someone in person from LJ. It hadn’t felt as threating since I had a fairly good indication about what he was like from his posts. The intriguing part was getting the voice and mannerisms to go along with all the selfies he posted. It was fun.

    December 30, 2013 at 2:50 am

  2. Elo’s fingernails remind me of my own!

    So cool that you guys met!

    December 31, 2013 at 12:46 am

  3. You know what the funny thing is? I thought the *EXACT* same thing when I met her, as most females I notice, have longer nails.

    I think you’d love meeting Elo, if you ever get the chance to :)

    January 1, 2014 at 12:25 am

  4. The intriguing part was getting the voice and mannerisms to go along with all the selfies he posted.
    Oh yeah, that’s probably the most interesting part of meeting someone you’ve ever known online. I always wonder how my online friends are in real life and how close they are to the persona I’ve conjured up for them based on the things they post.

    January 1, 2014 at 12:27 am

  5. I think I’m very nice in real life, contrary to what you may suspect. Lol! And I have a voice for you in my mind. Pretty sure it matches your real voice, or I could be totally wrong.

    January 1, 2014 at 12:54 am

  6. Haha, I think you’re a nice person. If I didn’t, I likely wouldn’t follow you on LJ or FB :P

    You know, until you mentioned it, I didn’t realize that I don’t really have a imagined voice for the people I’ve never met in real life… hmm.

    January 6, 2014 at 9:36 am

Leave a Reply

