Lucas took Raspberry out this afternoon to do a craft at the Victoria Gallery and Museum, as well as to the Crown Street park. It was nice to be able to have some time to myself, as we’ve been struggling for ages as to how to balance his time spent with Raspberry and all his obligations. The time I get to myself is infrequent and I don’t usually plan ahead what I’m going to spend that time doing. Sometimes I just end up staying home and doing things I probably should not, like dicking around on the computer. Ha. Other times, I have errands to run and that ends up eating up all the time I have and I wind up at home exhausted and feeling like time just flew.

Today though, I had a few errands to run but I also had a plan to browse through some charity shops and stores for clothes for Raspberry. April told me yesterday that she was at Marks and Spencer last week and picked up a pair of pants for Aruna for £2. I’d forgotten that lots of places do end-of-summer sales and I haven’t actually been shopping since I’ve moved here, so I haven’t noticed the sale signs. Anyway, Raspberry doesn’t actually need clothes at the moment but I tend to buy clothes for her in advance, so right now I’m buying sizes 6-8 for her, if I happen to come across them and they’re the right price. It feels strange to be shopping for an older child now, not a toddler (I’m so used to looking at sizes like 3T or 5T). She does need some undershirts for sleeping in though, as she’s been wearing 12-18 month and 18-24 month onesies for the past few years and while they’ve held up amazingly well, I’d like to save them so the baby can also wear them for a couple of years too (hopefully!).

I ended up browsing in M&S for a bit, sifting through their sale section to see if I could find anything nice and reasonably priced. I got a pair of navy blue leggings for Raspberry. They feel a little thin but I figured that it’d be all right for £1, and hey, by the time she’s seven or eight (when she’d fit into them), she might be running and jumping and climbing less and less likely to wear holes in the knees of her leggings. Haha, not likely, but whatever. I was tempted to browse the adult section for clothes for myself, since I haven’t actually window-shopped for clothes since I was in Canada, but then I reasoned that whatever I get isn’t likely to fit me now, and who knows if it’ll fit me after the baby’s born anyway? Not to mention, I really should be on the lookout for nursing-friendly clothes instead, since I have very few (or perhaps none at all — I haven’t actually actively looked to see what might work).

At H&M, I avoided the women’s section and went for the kids’. I do actually fit into the size 14Y of their kids clothes, as well as the largest kids’ sizes for Gap and Old Navy too (I commented to Lucas the other day about how ironic it is that all the tops I’m wearing right now are all kids’ tops). But I digress. I found a sparkly grey dress for Raspberry. It looks like a dress version of the sparkly silver skirt she’s been wearing since she was two, so I figured she’d like it, and she does. I hate that kids outgrow their clothes. I guess that’s just me being sentimental — after seeing my kid wear a particular item of clothing for several years, I just get a little weepy about moving on to new clothes. I’m probably the only one that gets this way, despite that fact that I do enjoy shopping (and window shopping) for new clothes for Raspberry. I’m quite glad I don’t frequent malls and clothing stores any more, or Raspberry’ll probably end up with more than a handful of clothes she’ll get little use out of and we’ll have a big dent in our bank accounts. I went to Mothercare to look at undershirts for Raspberry. They have a “buy one, get another half off” sale right now, so now might be the time for us to get some. We’ve been putting it off for quite a while now. Lucas is reluctant to because of the cost, even though he’s aware that Raspberry needs them. There were nursing bras on sale there too, and I need to look into them, since I pretty much destroyed a lot of my regular bras while nursing baby Raspberry. I’m annoyed that all the nursing bras buckle in the back (I dislike regular bras and only wear sports bras, you see). I’d like someone to make a good nursing bra that buckles in the front or is just something you pop over your head. They actually make sleep nursing bras like that but those don’t offer much support. Well, at least I still have several months to do some research into this.

Anyway, I didn’t find any clothes at the charity shops, but unlike actual retail stores, I visit them quite frequently anyway, so it doesn’t matter. I did find a pull-along wooden hedgehog toy for the baby (most, if not all, of our baby-stage toys are in Canada, so I thought it’d be nice for the baby to have a little something) and a junior scrabble game from 1958. I was terribly excited about the game, as it’s the exact same as the one I used to play when I was growing up. That copy belonged to my mother, who won it as a school prize in elementary school. Despite its age, it’s in great shape and seems like it has all the pieces. Raspberry and I played a round this evening. She actually insisted on playing the advanced version first (intended for much older kids) and I was getting frustrated with her because she needed a lot of help and didn’t seem like she was getting anything out of the game. The simpler version worked a lot better and she quite enjoyed it. We ended up playing until bedtime. She’s been really into games lately. Lucas taught her how to play Crazy Eights and she loves it so much she wants to play it all the time and is insistent on teaching me (yeah, I’ve never actually played before). And yesterday, we picked up a Snakes and Ladders game at the Victoria Museum’s gift shop, so she’s been playing that too.

I think despite having to run errands and browse for kids clothes (rather than things for myself), I did enjoy my afternoon. The minimalist and partly anti-consumerist part of me feels bad for admitting so but I did enjoy shopping/window-shopping and I feel like I’ve almost missed it. We spend very little to nothing on non-necessities right now, so I guess it felt satisfying to do something different, even though I know well that buying things does not equate to happiness in the long term. Anyway, I don’t think I’ll be going on a shopping spree like that again for a long time because we certainly don’t need anything beyond food imminently (okay, except maybe the undershirts, but you know…). It was just kinda nice while it lasted.

3 responses

  1. I wear strictly sleeping nursing bras and just buy small. I hate clasp bras. I wear these: http://m.target.com/p/gilligan-o-malley-women-s-2-pack-nursing-sleep-bra-assorted-colors-patterns/-/A-14000718

    They are a bit pricey, but they at least come in nice designs and hold up for awhile. They do wear out though.

    September 1, 2013 at 8:53 pm

  2. That’s perfect! That’s EXACTLY what I’m looking for, and that’s a great idea to buy small. I’ll have to look further into this, as I’m not sure if I’ll be able to get Target stuff over here. Thanks so much!!

    September 1, 2013 at 8:59 pm

  3. And it’s nice to know I’m not the only one who hates clasp bras :)

    September 1, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Leave a Reply

