Coming January 2014

9 responses

  1. ahh this is so great, congratulations! my due date has been set for feb 9th so we are very close together. we will see if this one is an early bird like klea, who surprised me by coming 2 weeks ahead of time.

    i had an emergency scan at 10 weeks and was surprised with how thorough it was, way more than the private one we paid for at 7 weeks. but maybe that was just because it was a follow up and they were making sure everythng was okay. still, i agree and am also not thrilled with how hands off antenatal care here is but that helped renew it just a tad. i have a friend here who i felt really slipped through the cracks with her care and consequently things did not end well in her pregnancy, so im very cautious with the NHS and have learned that i will be demanding what i think is right. my husband works closely with the NHS and he agrees, this is the way to get things done – they will try to cut corners with cost in anyway so you just have to be really, really assertive. i had complications with Kleas birth that i expect will happen again this time, so I am using that advice to the fullest to make sure that my previous history is considered and im handled properly.

    my nuchal scan is next week and im nervous too. i just worry a lot when im pregnant, not sure why. i just told my family last week so hopefully everything goes okay!

    July 27, 2013 at 8:04 am

  2. Beauty!

    July 27, 2013 at 3:33 pm

  3. :) I couldn’t stop looking at the ultrasound pictures that evening. I’m so hormonal!

    July 27, 2013 at 8:27 pm

  4. Oh wow, it’s good to know about the NHS. I thought that maybe the more hands-off approach was because this isn’t a first pregnancy, but I guess not? I have my 16-week appointment with the midwife at almost 18 weeks but I think I’ll try to get that pushed up. My 18-20 week scan is scheduled for 22 weeks and my glucose tolerance test is scheduled for 29 weeks. I have no idea why everything is so belated and I’m not at all comfortable with it, so I’m going to try and get the dates changed, if at all possible (fingers crossed!).

    It’s good that you know all this about the NHS, so you can take precautions. I pretty much came into this with no knowledge about them at all. Good luck with your nuchal scan next week!

    July 27, 2013 at 8:38 pm

  5. Do you know the sex? I’m so curious and nosy.

    July 28, 2013 at 1:20 am

  6. Haha, no. We’re only at 14 weeks and I don’t think they can tell the sex at that time. Besides, we’re not planning on finding out until the baby is born too.

    July 28, 2013 at 8:52 am

  7. Aww!

    July 30, 2013 at 3:28 am

  8. Dawn, I owe you a big email but in the interim I just wanted to say congratulations AGAIN and how happy I am for all three of you. Exciting! x

    July 30, 2013 at 1:19 pm

  9. :) Thanks! And no worries about the email… in your own time!

    August 2, 2013 at 10:20 pm

Leave a Reply

