print fair aftermath

I popped my print fair cherry yesterday!

I’d been a huge ball of nervousness and excitement all week, as I stressed about everything that had to be done and busied myself with daily to-do lists. There was many a long day and late night. Lucas told me a few times that he thought I was a little grumpy because I was stressed about the print fair, but I think PMS was at least partly to blame. Raspberry was quite accommodating, allowing me to get work done during the day while she played by herself (although, in true five-year-old fashion, she couldn’t occupy herself for quite that long and would come to me wanting to play). She did get into the spirit of making work for the print fair, so much so that at one point, everything she made was declared to be a print to be sold. She was also ridiculously excited about the print fair, counting down the number of sleeps until the actual day. Me, on the other hand, I had worked myself up so much that I slightly wanted the day to come and go quickly just so I could breathe properly again and my stomach would stop acting up.

The actual print fair itself went all right. Being Easter Sunday, the crowds were quite thin, probably because hardly anything was open in the surrounding area. Lucas had called it, but I’d actually expected that because it was Easter Sunday, people might not have anything to do and would come to the print fair. Guess I was wrong. Oh well.

I’d been worried that Raspberry would be bored, having to sit at the table for five hours, but she said she’d had a good time, so much so that she wants to do it again. The best thing, she says, was meeting new people. Because there was a lot of down time, she spent quite a bit of time wandering the other tables, meeting the other sellers and collecting cool business cards. She was especially drawn to Catherine Chialton’s table, because she was selling wooden brooches in the shape of human organs. I have to admit that I love love love her work too, and am kicking myself for not getting anything. Lucas especially loved her anatomical heart brooch too. Anyway, one of the other sellers told me Raspberry had such good manners, which I was slightly amused by, since Raspberry can have such an attitude sometimes. She spent quite a bit of time with the people whose table was across from ours. They offered her chocolate at one point and she actually politely declined and said she preferred fruit, specifically apples. What?! I don’t think that was my child (although, I think she declined because we told her a few days back how she’s had lots of treats lately so she needs to cut back).

When all was said and done, we unfortunately didn’t break even. Actually, Raspberry made a small profit but I didn’t. I really do think that had the print fair been on a different day, we’d have been more successful. Raspberry’s work, especially her cat zine, was more popular than mine; someone even Instagrammed and tweeted about her work. At one point, while someone was browsing our table, Raspberry said to me quite loudly, “I don’t think anyone likes your maps,” as unfortunately, I didn’t sell any maps as I’d hoped. People browsed the portfolios and said they were cool but there were no takers. Rather, the bulk of my earnings came from my envelopes (I’d predicted that my envelopes with Ai Weiwei’s Study in Perspective series would be the most popular and I was right). Of course I’m a little disappointed that I wasn’t more financially successful but I’m not too bummed about it, given the circumstances. I’m excited to try my luck again another time and I’m going to work on selling my stuff online and perhaps in some shops around Liverpool too. And at least the next time we do a fair, most of the work has already been done so I probably won’t be stressing as much as I did this time around.

12 responses

  1. Congrats, Dawn and Raspberry! Quite the accomplishment!

    Nice to hear that Rb’s work got a neat response and that she was hanging out with new people. Also, that woman wasn’t very nice! Jerk.

    Anyway, onwards and upwards. You’ll be seasoned at this in no time!

    April 3, 2013 at 4:30 am

  2. p.s. I deleted my first comment as re-posted because dorky me wanted to see what it’d be like to post on LJ via FB.

    April 3, 2013 at 4:31 am

  3. Thanks! We’re actually planning on doing another fair in Manchester in less than two weeks! I’m just sorting out details right now.

    And what woman wasn’t being nice? I’m confused!

    April 3, 2013 at 7:21 am

  4. Oh, I had no idea you could post on LJ via FB. Whaddyaknow!

    April 3, 2013 at 7:32 am

  5. I did not much care for posting on LJ via FB! It used my FB profile pic and then all of a sudden my FB profile info took over my LJ profile.

    April 3, 2013 at 4:53 pm

  6. Awesome about Manchester!

    “At one point, while someone was browsing our table, Raspberry said to me quite loudly, “I don’t think anyone likes your maps,””

    ^ I took that being not very nice. Personally, that’s not something I would tell someone even if I felt that way!

    April 3, 2013 at 4:55 pm

  7. Well, Raspberry’s five, so she doesn’t know any better and she knows nothing about being tactful. And you know how kids are… they speak their mind. :)

    April 3, 2013 at 5:03 pm

  8. OMG. I totally read that the woman browsing your table said that to you, not Raspberry.

    My comprehension skills suck! I now understand your confusion at “Also, that woman wasn’t very nice! Jerk.” Hahahahaha, I called Rb a woman AND a jerk.

    April 3, 2013 at 5:15 pm

  9. Hahahahaha, that TOTALLY makes sense now! No worries though! Sometimes I read/skim things and totally misunderstand what was written. It happens. And besides, one day Rb will be a woman. And sometimes, she can be a bit of a jerk. It’s completely appropriate.

    April 3, 2013 at 7:54 pm

  10. I’ve always loved your tapir icon!

    April 3, 2013 at 7:55 pm

  11. Anonymous

    I think it’s amazing that you had your first print fair store! :) It’s great to have a start somewhere. Well done and let me know how you go the next time!

    April 8, 2013 at 9:16 pm

  12. Thanks, Wendy! I’m crossing my fingers the next time’ll be a charm!

    April 8, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Leave a Reply

