print fair!

Raspberry and I are going to be in a print fair in just over a week! It’s a small one, with fifteen tables, but it’s a good idea to start small and see what materializes.

I’ve spent the past month making new envelopes and feverishly sewing new maps in preparation for the big day. It’s been busy but great, as I thoroughly enjoy what I make and more importantly, the process of doing so. I’ve wanted to sell the maps since I started sewing them two years ago, and I wanted to start by selling them online but I’ve been dragging my feet trying to figure out the logistics of doing so. I’ve never sold at a fair before but I jumped at the chance to do so, as tables were only £5 each. In addition to the maps and envelopes, I plan on putting together a couple of sets of bundled photographs, although I’m still not quite sure whether to sell them as actual photos or as postcards. I’ve also been dabbling a bit of rubber stamps and gift tags but I’m not quite sure about those yet.

As for Raspberry, at the start of the new year, she mentioned wanting to sell her artwork and I was going to set up something online for her to do so, but as I’d mentioned above, I was still very slowly sorting through the logistics of doing so. I thought the print fair would be a great chance for her to fulfill her three-month-old dream, and it’ll teach her a bit about entrepreneurship. She’ll get to keep whatever she makes too. We haven’t given her her weekly allowance of a quarter since we moved here, so this will be great for building up her savings again (since we left all her savings in a jar in Canada). She’s been pretty excited about the print fair and lately more often than not, she’ll make a piece of art and say it’s for the fair (whether I think it’s sell-able is another story!). She’s done a bunch of handmade postcards and I plan on putting some of her images into zines, one about cats and the other about meerkats. I was also thinking of turning some of her pictures into prints, but I’ve still got to figure out the most cost-efficient way of doing that.

There’s still ten days until the print fair, but there’s quite a bit that still needs to be done. I expect next week will be fairly busy, but I’m excited (and nervous!) about it all.

In the meantime, I’ll just leave these here:

http://boundbylines.tumblr.com

http://earsandwhiskersart.tumblr.com

11 responses

  1. So exciting!!! I love seeing all your maps together… and Rb’s drawings too. I didn’t know she got an allowance :)

    March 22, 2013 at 6:19 am

  2. I love your sewn maps. If I was in Liverpool, I’d come to the fair to buy one! Would you consider selling one by post to London….?

    March 22, 2013 at 12:12 pm

  3. That’s so great, I hope it goes well! I think that it would be really adorable if Raspberry also had space at your table. I think it will be more satisfying for her to sell art at a fair and meet the people who are buying it rather than online.

    My lj friend recently moved to the UK and I recommended that she come to this: http://hmaners.livejournal.com/. She lives kind of far, but maybe she’ll decide to go and you’ll meet her!

    March 22, 2013 at 2:28 pm

  4. Awww, thanks! It took me ages to find a good grid layout. Haha.

    She got an allowance every Friday, beginning on her 4th birthday. We gave her a quarter a week, but we haven’t given her anything since we moved. Right now, she picks change off the ground and that constitutes her savings.

    March 22, 2013 at 8:36 pm

  5. Thanks!

    I can most definitely mail you one! Would you like one of the ones that have already been sewn (they’re mostly borders of European countries) or if you like, I can make you a custom one. Let me know :)

    March 22, 2013 at 8:37 pm

  6. Yeah, Raspberry will be sharing table space with me. The fair will be 5h long and I’m not sure if she can sit there for that long, but I plan on bringing lots of stuff to keep her occupied in the down time.

    I think it will be more satisfying for her to sell art at a fair and meet the people who are buying it rather than online.
    I hadn’t considered that before. I do like that.

    I noticed your LJ friend had added me. It’ll be cool to meet her!

    March 22, 2013 at 8:40 pm

  7. awesome, and really beautiful refined work.

    March 22, 2013 at 10:46 pm

  8. Thank you!

    March 22, 2013 at 11:10 pm

  9. Wow, that would be great! I can pay via paypal, or bacs, whatever is best for you. Are the ones you’ve done so far all on your tumblr? I’m drawn to Italy, for my grandfather (that I never met) and for the colour. Albania is wonderful but I’m not sure if I want one for a country I have no knowledge of whatsoever….!

    March 26, 2013 at 7:27 pm

  10. I’m going to look into BACS, so I’ll get back to you on that.

    I’ve done all the European countries with land borders (they’re all 8.5 x 11″). I’ve also just finished all the South American countries but they’re smaller (8.5 x 5.5″ as well as 4.25 x 5.5″). I also have some enclaves and exclaves done. I’m slowly putting them up on Tumblr :)

    Would you like the Italian border that I put up on Tumblr, or would you want another border?

    March 26, 2013 at 8:42 pm

  11. Sorry for taking so long to get back to you! I can do BACS. Just let me know what information you need. You can email me at paper(dot)spoon@gmail.com!

    April 1, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Leave a Reply

