our chinese new year

It’s Chinese New Year today and for days, my Facebook feed has been chock full of posts alternating between Chinese New Year and the major snowstorm. It’s rather amusing actually. The new year doesn’t really matter to us as we’ve never really celebrated it; I haven’t celebrated it since I was in my early teens. There were festivities going on in Chinatown but the entire day was very wet and windy so we decided not to venture out, rather taking the time to recuperate from three consecutive days out. I kinda sorta wanted to go partly because having never seen the Western take on Chinese New Year, I thought it might be interesting. Mostly though, I felt obligated to go, not because of my ethnicity but because we’re finally actually living in a city bustling with all sorts of interesting things to do and I always feel obligated to expose Raspberry to all sorts of experiences. In this case, because she’s never experienced Chinese New Year, I felt slightly more pressured to go out to check out the ongoings in Chinatown. But spending a few hours out in the cold rain isn’t pleasant and I didn’t want to subject her to that — I can just hear the complaints and foresee myself getting extremely annoyed. Moreover, she said she felt like being a homebody today anyway. She awoke much earlier than usual because she had to pee and had a couple of breakdowns later in the day that I’d attribute to fatigue. Her day was mostly spent exploring the kitchen cabinets and cutting up paper and tape to create various things (wait, isn’t it taboo to use scissors on new year’s day? Oh well, too late now!). It was just one of those days where time moved as slowly as molasses and we did too.

8 responses

  1. I like her tutu thing! Cute that she wears it at home and out.

    I read that CNY festivities are happening next weekend as this weekend is reserved for family so all the public activities are taking place next week. Hmm.

    I forgot that it was taboo to use scissors. I tried hard, but wasn’t able to have a clean house! I don’t really believe in those things (if not I would have gotten a long-overdue hair cut/trim) but now them I’m older, I actually feel inclined to observe them.

    p.s. How does Rb feel about scarves?

    February 11, 2013 at 6:58 pm

  2. Her tutu thing is actually a scarf her great-grandmother made but she doesn’t use it as a scarf, only as a tutu at home.

    That’s really smart, to push CNY festivities to next week. I doubt many cities have thought of that.

    Do you follow many CNY superstitions? I can’t say I’ve really bothered (although when I was younger, I would have, quite the opposite of you). No new clothes, no clean apartment, no putting the scissors and knives away around here.

    Rb likes scarves, I think. She’s only really had the one that she wears in winter and that’s about it. She doesn’t have a lightweight scarf or anything so her scarf-wearing at the moment is restricted to winter.

    February 11, 2013 at 8:21 pm

  3. Ah I see it’s one of those kinds of scarves…

    No, I don’t really follow the CNY ‘rules’ per se. I did have duck – was out but and at about 7pm (ha), tried to buy a full duck from a butcher. No luck (of course) and settled for 1/2 a duck at T&T. I guess I usually try to celebrate the evening of but that’s really about it…

    Good to know her stance about scarves!

    February 14, 2013 at 5:17 am

  4. I’m impressed that you can carve a full duck! Or even half a duck, for that matter! Kudos to you!

    February 14, 2013 at 8:18 pm

  5. Haha, I’m not that talented. When I buy a full duck, I get the butcher to cut it up, and the T&T duck was already pre-sliced.

    I did make my first full fish yesterday! So I got to carve that up. I can’t believe how cheap a full fish was. (Tilapia)

    February 14, 2013 at 9:17 pm

  6. Oh yeah, I forgot that you can get the supermarket to cut up the duck for you. Oops!

    I’m so impressed you made an entire fish! I’ve never been motivated to buy a full fish, bones and all, possibly because it’s way too much fish for me!

    February 14, 2013 at 10:00 pm

  7. Oh but you’re a family of 3! Surely a whole fish would serve a couple meals? I bought a big roast from Costco and sliced it up (well, Christian did) into a bunch of sections for freezing so that we can make steaks every so often.

    Do you typically make a full chicken (when you make chicken)? It sounds like you guys are living the veg lifestyle right now! I love veggies and am surprised that I don’t buy them as often as I would like.

    February 14, 2013 at 10:17 pm

  8. A whole fish would serve several meals, but we’d get tired of fish very quickly and then start to feel obligated to eat it and eventually not want to see fish for a very long time after.

    When we make/made chicken, we’d do two legs at a time and that’d cover two meals for us. We’ve never been big meat eaters, only having it maybe two or three times a week so cooking less chicken at a time worked for us.

    I’m surprised you don’t get veggies very often. If there’s one thing I know about you, it’s that you like your vegetables and I don’t!

    February 14, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Leave a Reply

