So the excitement did set in today. Excitement and nervousness. I couldn’t fall asleep last night because my brain wouldn’t shut up while thinking about everything that needs to be done. I awoke soon after six a.m. for the same reason, only falling back to sleep after seven, after Lucas’ watch alarm went off, after I heard the cat jump down from the bed, her feet treading rhythmically on the hardwood floor.

Almost all day, I was itching to do something, anything relating to the pile of stuff we need to get done. Lucas would randomly ask, “you’re thinking about it, aren’t you?” and about half the time, he was right. He said we’d write a list in the evening, after Raspberry’s in bed, so we wouldn’t get interrupted and distracted. I caved and started a list in fancy writing after dinner.

We’re looking to leave in about two weeks, to give ourselves enough time to get everything done and besides, the prices for flights goes up after. Tonight, as I finished up a strong concoction of butterscotch schnapps and lychee juice (an interesting combination), we tried to figure out the details of how we’re going to actually get there. Lucas and Avy will travel separately from Raspberry and I, because it costs an arm and a leg to fly a cat directly into the UK. Rather, he’ll fly into Amsterdam, hop a ferry and train to London, Raspberry and I will meet him there and we’ll all take the train to Liverpool. It’s complicated, and complicated details are always tough to work out. We’re hoping to sort it out tomorrow and then get our tickets (NOT prematurely this time!). For now, I think the schnapps are hitting me and it’s time for bed.

Leave a Reply

