Image

2 responses

  1. What is it like, to have daughter?

    October 10, 2012 at 3:56 am

  2. You know, I’ve never actually thought about it. Had you asked me this a few years ago, or before I had a child, I’d probably have answered differently and likely drawn my answer from gender stereotypes. Before Raspberry was born, I had been hoping for a girl, possibly because I have two sisters (and a brother) and identified more with so-called girl things. I remember actually thinking, “what would I do with a boy?!!” I’ll admit, superficially I was drawn to the cute clothes for girls too (dresses! skirts! tops! oh my!). But as Raspberry’s gotten older and I’ve been introduced to and have read about radical and anarchist parenting, as well as gender, I’ve decided that I would raise a boy the same way I’d raise a girl (dresses and skirts and all, if my hypothetical son wanted). In the same vein, if Raspberry were a boy (and were exactly the same as female Raspberry in all other ways, except for the penis), and if anything would be different and came to the conclusion that it probably wouldn’t be. I wouldn’t raise him differently than I would her.

    If anything, I think it’s a kid’s personality (rather than sex/gender) that matters. My kid is a handful because of her high-strung personality and I imagine I’d have an easier time if she were more laid-back, but I don’t attribute it to her being a girl, of course.

    Perhaps in a few years when Raspberry gets older and if I do later have a boy, I might be able to identify differences between having a daughter and not, but for now, probably because I don’t have a son to compare it to, I can’t really tell you what it’s like having a daughter.

    October 14, 2012 at 3:47 am

Leave a Reply

