envelopes

I spent most of yesterday morning making envelopes while Raspberry and Lucas were at her final gymnastics class. I’d actually started last Saturday, but only made six envelopes. Yesterday, I took a mass-production approach and churned out thirty-two. They’re not entirely finished yet — I still have one more flap to create, as well as the labels. Today, I made a trip to Curry’s to look at double-sided tape. Ordinarily, when I make envelopes to send mail to people, I glue the flap down. But I’m hoping to sell these as part of a series of ‘artist envelopes,’ hence the double-sided tape.

I make envelopes at least once a week, when I mail my sister postcards or letters and next to actually writing said mail, making the envelopes is often my favourite part of the week. I have a giant stack of paper ripped from magazines, to be used for cut-and-paste purposes or for making envelopes (mostly the latter), and since I’ll probably only make a small dent in the stack making envelopes for my sister, I thought I’d make them for others. This series of artist envelopes were culled from this year’s CONTACT catalogue. I had a grand ol’ time ripping up the catalogues (as well as previous years’) last week and delightfully dulled my exacto knife as I did so. I’m excited to make more envelopes (I have a stack of Lynne Cohen’s images waiting in the wings), although I must wonder how many people are anachronistic like me and would like cool envelopes to send their snail mail in. Anyhow, as per my other sister, Zara’s suggestion, I might start a Tumblr to share and sell my envelopes (and maybe my maps, although I’d like to exhibit them first, so we’ll see). I dislike Tumblr as a blogging platform, but with the proper tags, it seems like it’d be a good place to start a shop of sorts. Okay, I should really go finish this set of envelopes tonight so I can move on to more.

4 responses

  1. LOVE them!

    May 28, 2012 at 10:28 pm

  2. Thanks, Kristen!

    May 29, 2012 at 1:12 am

  3. Anonymous

    hey are you selling it yet? :)
    Would like to buy a few.

    June 1, 2012 at 7:14 pm

  4. Hi, they’re ready to be bought. Email me at paper(dot)spoon@gmail.com and let me know which ones you’d like. Thanks!

    June 1, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Leave a Reply

