walking

Yesterday, I was in Toronto to see an exhibition of Diane Arbus’ works at Mercer Union, as well as the most inclusive private collection of photographs in Canada at the University of Toronto Art Centre. I even snuck in trips to other galleries. ‘Twas was a hell of a lot of walking, but I’m most happy about the fact that I shot three rolls of film (I’ve been trying to place myself more in a documentary mindset lately, something that seems to elude me more often than I would like). There were a handful of missed opportunities because I wasn’t fast enough or hesitated, but I try not to think too much about those. I can’t wait to get the pictures back on Friday.

Today was beautifully warm and we hiked through Cootes Paradise. I was in my trusty (read: holey) Converse shoes and was ill-equipped for all the mud on the trails (I didn’t think we were going to be walking that far either). Oh well. It was still lovely and we almost made it to the lake — it was a rather precipitous path down. All this walking the past two days have worn me down. I think I’m going to have to take a day or two to recuperate from all this wonderful non-normality in my life.

Leave a Reply

