I picked up the book, The Origin of AIDS, from the library a couple of weeks ago. I have a background in biological anthropology and I’ve always been interested in the bio-social implications of AIDS. I’d been really excited about reading this book, after coming across an article about it in the newspaper.

However, the book is due later this coming week and I’m trying to get through it on and off during the past two weeks, but with little avail. I’m at the point where I’m forcing myself to sit and read and dammit, to enjoy it. This is, of course, not the way to read a book. The book isn’t filled with scientific jargon, but it does read much like the scientific method, with hypotheses and lots of percentages (as is the nature of epidemiology). These parts alternate with others on the circumstances of central Africa’s colonial climate which created ripe conditions for spread of HIV. While I do appreciate the author trying to take readers on the complex journey toward the discovery of AIDS’ origins, I’d hoped that the book would’ve been much more about the latter. Despite having been a science student over ten years ago, my mind isn’t entirely cut out to handle material that’s overly scientific, which is why I’m frustrated by the book.

I think I need to step away from it for a bit and get it back from the library at a later time. I haven’t read many books in the past few years, and I certainly don’t want dread reading a book if it’s not working out for me at this time. Oh well, I’ll try again in a few weeks and perhaps I’ll be in a better mindset to enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

