not our cats

There have been two cats intermittently on our balcony since this evening. One is white and fluffy and the other is white and light brown. I was making granola when I looked up to see the cats on the balcony. ‘Twas surprising. I guess the neighbours either got cats or are taking care of them. Raspberry was quite entertained by them. She sat in the chair, poised with her camera, waiting for the cats to keep coming by. She even brought an empty cup and plate, as if she were having a meal while cat-watching. I scratched my nail on the window and the cats did come over to see. The white one is more timid and startled when I got up to walk away. It’s close to midnight now and the cats are back. Avy has only just seen the cats (well, the white and brown one anyway — that one’s more curious). She’s hissing and growling and batting at the window, at the curious cat on the balcony. She really couldn’t care less about the cat and now, there’s a cat in the darkness staring into our apartment. It’s kinda creepy and stalker-ish, but somewhat off-set by the fact that it’s a cute cat.

I feel bad for the cats, being out in the cold. Lucas thinks the neighbours might’ve left their window open so the cats can go in and out freely. Oh, I also feel bad for the cats for being around smokers, and I’m a little afraid they might squeeze themselves through the bars of the balcony and fall six storeys down (but they haven’t done that yet, so they’re clearly not stupid). The white and brown one did push almost half its body through the bars while looking out though.

As entertaining as it is to have foreign cats on the balcony, I do hope this is a one-time thing. I can’t be distracted by cats on my balcony all day, and I don’t think Avy appreciates it too much.

3 responses

  1. How did the cats get on the balcony?! Do you think they jumped from the other side then? Crazy, flying cats! How amusing.

    January 24, 2012 at 5:20 am

  2. Oh, there’s a gap under the metal panel that divides the balconies. They crept under that. They were there again tonight. Kinda creepy. It’s really windy tonight too. Who lets their cats out on such a windy night?!

    January 24, 2012 at 5:21 am

  3. Oh, and last night, I saw them balancing on the railing. Srsly, don’t do that, cats!

    January 24, 2012 at 5:22 am

Leave a Reply

