published!


Two of my sewn European map borders will be published in the new issue of Uppercase Magazine next month. That’s Turkey in the red and Hungary in the green.

This is the magazine that closed its submissions early and I was freaking out a little about it. It turned out that they’d received a ton of submissions and decided to close it, but I emailed them and obviously, was able to submit. I’d love to get a subscription to it, but it’s a bit cost-prohibitive. I might settle for just the one copy because it’s heavy on cartography and of course, I’d like a copy for posterity’s sake.

Perhaps this will give me the motivation to finish the series. Believe it or not, I have only one map left to do — that of England. I haven’t sewn in several weeks, after a frenzied few weeks churning out border after border, because I haven’t been able to get a reasonably decent high-resolution map of the English borders. I usually zoom in on Google Maps, but England’s land borders are dotted lines there, which won’t show up very well when printed. Hence, I’ve been procrastinating… a lot. I should really try to finish it before the end of the year (really, it won’t even take me that long).

I’ve been wanting to start a new series for a while, although I’m not certain what it’ll be (but I’ve had some ideas, like disputed borders or shrinking sizes of lakes). For that matter though, I’m not even exactly certain if I want to take a little break from sewing maps on paper and branch off onto another medium, which would be pretty fun too. Anyhow, I should shelve the thoughts temporarily and get to work getting a reasonable image of the English border so I can get my series done (fifty-one maps!).

7 responses

  1. congrats! this looks great! you should order a couple of copies of this issue — are you sure they don’t send contributors a copy? you might be able to ask for one to be sent to you.

    December 23, 2011 at 3:30 pm

  2. cause $18 a piece is expensive too, even w/o the subscription! yeah, ask for one. you might be surprised.

    December 23, 2011 at 3:31 pm

  3. Congrats!!!

    December 23, 2011 at 6:32 pm

  4. congrats, that’s awesome! i love the simplicity of the map borders, such a wonderful idea.

    December 23, 2011 at 7:26 pm

  5. Thanks! I might ask if they’ll send contributors a copy in the new year, after it’s released. You’re right — $18 for a magazine is pretty steep. I don’t even pay that much for my clothes (ha!). I feel a little weird asking for a copy though, ’cause it’s not like I have a major piece in there, you know?

    December 24, 2011 at 2:31 am

  6. Thanks!!

    December 24, 2011 at 2:31 am

  7. Thanks! I do love the minimalist quality to them too.

    December 24, 2011 at 2:31 am

Leave a Reply

