too much

There is a ridiculous wealth of information out there these days. No shock there. I have all this media at my disposal — the whole world wide web, books, magazines, newspapers, academic articles. I’m at the library almost every day and I see all these books I’d love to read. Every evening, through Google Reader, Tumblr and Facebook, I click on links leading me to blog posts and articles, some of which sit in open tabs on my browser for a few days until I get to them.

Right now, I have sixteen books and magazines checked out on my library card. That’s not too bad, considering at one point many months ago, I had around thirty (likely more) items checked out, most of it reading material. So sixteen isn’t a lot in comparison, but it’s too much for me. I have books that I check out over and over again, simply because I want to read them but don’t get around to doing so before they’re due. I have a another library card that affords me access to the university libraries, but I haven’t taken anything out in a while, because oh hey, I have this huge stack of books from the public library I really should mostly get through before I add to the pile.

I want to read the books. I really do. But at the end of a long day with a three-year-old, it’s hard for me to want to do very much, and at that point, the relative brevity of blog posts makes them much more appealing than a book. I didn’t really use to read short stories, but sometime in the past two years, I started to, simply because they were much easier to read during an oft-interrupted period of time than a novel or academic book. For this purpose, magazine articles work extremely well too (my weekly vice is the New York Times magazine; other reads include The Walrus, Adbusters, The Atlantic and Toronto Life). How I miss the summer, when Raspberry would play at the splash pad while I curled up under a tree with a book. I think this summer was when I got the most amount of reading I’ve done in a while. Oh, what bliss.

Lucas had the same problem as me for a bit there — having way more books on his library card than he could get to. He swiftly solved his problem by taking most of them back, save for one. I sort of did that too, except that I hung onto more books than he did. In line with trying to simplify and declutter, I’m trying to actively work through my books, so they stop being dust-collectors on the shelf and doorstops on the floor. The ginormous photo-books shall be the first, because they’re the most aesthetically pleasing and the statements will be a quicker read than an actual book. Perhaps in doing so, I can get back into doing more than mere magazine reading and motivate myself to get through the pile, so I stop checking and re-checking the same books out of the library all the time.

2 responses

  1. I have found that even though it’s not as enticing, having just one or two books out means I actually read them. But getting to the library is a chore, so …

    I actually read a book last night! HA. The iPad pretty much distracted me entirely for months. Wicked thing. I read some Raymond Carver short stories.

    October 26, 2011 at 2:36 pm

  2. I have to agree — I’d prefer to have fewer books and actually get around to reading them, rather than hoarding books. I’m tempted to get return most of the books, save for one or two, but I’m not quite ready to let some of them go yet.

    Yay for getting back to reading! :)

    October 29, 2011 at 12:00 am

Leave a Reply

