males

I’ve had quite a number of people add me on Google+. It’s mostly a result of my having added my name to about three lists of photographers on G+. Anyway, I just realized today that the most of the people who are adding me (non-mutually — ie. I didn’t add them first) are males. From what I can tell, only two of the thirty-seven adds are females. All of them are photographers or purveyors of photography. This, of course, makes me wonder if photography is still mostly (but perhaps not overwhelmingly?) a male domain? Or is it just the fact that there are more male photographers on G+? Or are male photographers more drawn to my work or to street photography in general, than female photographers? I really have to wonder…

4 responses

  1. Yeah, looking at their profile icons, they have a certain “look.” Haha.

    August 3, 2011 at 1:18 am

  2. It actually seems like profile pics on G+ have a certain “look.” I haven’t come across any really unique ones. Actually, this reminds me of an article I once read in a photography journal. They researched if there were any trends in Facebook profile pictures. The result: no discernible trends. Ha.

    August 7, 2011 at 12:40 am

  3. I love your tapir icon!

    Perhaps people are more willing to show their face on G+…. I know I am, for some reason, and I am not at all active on there.

    August 9, 2011 at 5:32 pm

  4. Seeing that G+ is meant to be like FB, perhaps people are more inclined to be honest about their identities?

    August 10, 2011 at 12:39 am

Leave a Reply

