out of practise

A trip to Toronto usually means a good workout for my film camera. I was there on my own twice in May and got through quite a bit of film and came out with more than a handful of gems within. I’d been quite excited to take my camera to Toronto today, because it’s been quite a while since I was last downtown and had the chance to do some street photography. Unfortunately, I realized quite quickly than street photography is something that requires regular practice to maintain the mindset and the keen eye. I’m sure I had plenty of chances for great pictures today, but I definitely didn’t see it. Nothing jumped out at me as being worthy of a picture and my reflexes certainly weren’t as quick as they were two months ago. I think having other people with me meant I wasn’t as focused in keeping an eye open for potential pictures too. I’m a little surprised it’s taken me this long to figure out that street photography for me needs a level of ‘upkeep,’ so to speak. I suppose it’s because it’s only recently that I’ve been able to immerse myself thoroughly back into it, and be able to take my time wandering the streets alone. Well, at least now I know and won’t expect almost instantaneous snapping and the streets to immediately burst alive with promise the next time I’m taking my camera out again after a lull.

Leave a Reply

