flick flick flickr

I’ve finally succumbed to Flickr, after resisting it for ever so long. That’s one more time/attention-sucker. Ha. I’ve had an account for a few months, but it’s mostly just been sitting there inactive. Last week, I acquired a Google+ account, and finally decided to use it to expand both my interest in and practise of photography (who knew there were so many artists and photographers on it already?!). So I thought that Flickr would be a good way to help with building my practise of photography. I used to submit my images to online magazines a long while ago, prior to Raspberry’s birth. I figured that collectively, Flickr and Google+ would help me get back into making images more consistently and getting out there on the interweb again.

8 responses

  1. Flickr is a time suck that is actually worth it! It’s motivating too. Glad you are finally using it! I like your photos — I’ve just had a quick look before writing this, but they look like one I’ve never seen!

    July 18, 2011 at 4:05 am

  2. I love that you have a flickr! So much easier to look at your photos using slideshow!

    July 18, 2011 at 4:10 am

  3. Just what I need… another time-waster. Haha! I posted a bunch of images from a few years ago, all of which are on my LJ. I think I’ve got to go back again and run through my images on LJ (which is where I culled them from initially, since all my images are everywhere at the moment).

    July 18, 2011 at 4:15 am

  4. I totally agree. I haven’t used the slideshow function yet, but I’m going to check it out right now!

    July 18, 2011 at 4:15 am

  5. Slideshow is how I view everything in flickr including my contact list recents – slideshow on pause so I can move at my own pace.

    I have found a lot of great photographers on flickr. It’s a fun place, and way more worth the time suck to a photographer than Facebook etc!

    July 18, 2011 at 4:25 am

  6. Oh I guess it’s called Lightbox too

    July 18, 2011 at 4:26 am

  7. Ooooh, you can put your contacts in a slideshow AND on pause? Wow, I have tons to learn. Granted, I’ve only really spent tonight exploring Flickr, and most of that time was spent uploading and tagging my images.

    I can definitely see Flickr being more useful than Facebook. I do get a lot of artsy stuff on FB, but when everything’s a thumbnail, it’s harder to discover new art.

    July 18, 2011 at 4:29 am

  8. Yah basically when you click on any image to make it bigger it will show up in Lightbox and you can use the navigation in Lightbox to easily scroll thru the set viewing on a large size… Er does this make sense? So like if you click on your contact list and then click on a photo to make it big in Lightbox you can scroll thru all yr contacts.

    July 18, 2011 at 4:38 am

Leave a Reply

