going without

I was more or less without the Internet for a week, because our modem kicked the bucket. It was brutal. We were in utter withdrawal, practically cut off from the world (our phone line runs through our Internet connection). For a bit there, Lucas looked like he didn’t know what to do with himself and paced a lot, often looking out the window for the mail truck (which we thought was going to deliver our new modem). Raspberry wanted her dose of music videos, meerkat videos and Mary Poppins’ Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious. It got to the point where she decided she’d watch the videos on her own special computer, which is really just a keyboard. She even had her own special modem, which she very kindly offered to me in the palm of her hand. Thoughtful, but useless.

Frustrating as it was without the Internet, I did catch up on my movie-watching. I watched Tokyo!, Exit Through The Gift Shop and The Maid. And with little distraction to keep me from sleep, I actually made it to bed well before midnight most nights. Unfortunately for a day or two, I re-discovered Solitaire, a game I haven’t played in years. Damn you, Windows, for putting games on my computer. Damn you, Self, for forgetting to delete the games as done previously.

Our constant waiting for the modem proved pretty fruitless. Four days after we called for the new modem (which they promised to send out immediately and told us to expect in one to four business days), Lucas emailed them for a tracking number. The next day, when I looked up on the tracking number they provided, I learnt they didn’t even ship the modem till after Lucas had sent the email. Not only that, but they sent it by Fed-Ex, instead of Canada Post (so much for looking out for the mail truck), and because we have no buzzer number and little alternative, Fed-Ex decided to hold the modem hostage at their office in Burlington. Which meant that short of sitting in the lobby all day waiting for Fed-Ex to show up, we had to go get it ourselves. So while Raspberry and I trekked to Mississauga to visit my mum and sister, Lucas made his way to Burlington to get the ever-precious modem, which now sits all blinky and shiny on our shelf, doing its thing.

Dear Internet, I’m so glad you’re back. I know I should use you less and do more real-world things, but please don’t ever leave us so abruptly like that ever again. Okay, thanks. Love, me.

4 responses

  1. We missed you!

    April 5, 2011 at 7:55 pm

  2. Oh no…the horror. Glad you’re back on. Reminded me of the South Park episode…

    April 6, 2011 at 1:38 am

  3. Aww :) I’ve definitely missed reading Livejournal and your posts.

    April 6, 2011 at 4:14 am

  4. That’s awesome! I haven’t watched South Park in a long time and I’d forgotten how funny they can be. Thanks for the laugh!

    April 6, 2011 at 4:15 am

Leave a Reply

