of children, colds and cameras



As of this afternoon (or if you’d like to get precise, as of this Wednesday night), I can officially warp the malleable, young minds of first-years. For that matter, I can also live vicariously in the minds of pre-medites, the type of mind I abandoned or really, barely got into, years ago.

I should rub my hands together wickedly in excitement but I’m busy nursing a cold, one that made me drip very wet snot all over my fingers as I attempted to scribble notes in class, one that probably made everyone in a radius of twenty meters want to shun me but can’t, and one that gave me a side pocket full of cold, damp Kleenex. I’d love to walk around with Kleenex plugging my nose (a surprisingly comfortable and comforting feeling) but it’s not particularly attractive. What if I run into a cute guy? I’m feverish too, which surprises me. This’ll teach me to sleep with the windows fairly wide open; it’s a trade-off really — catch a cold with the windows open, or let the laundry remain damp overnight. I feel like shit, the diarrheal kind with all its glorious wetness, so hello, early night! Well, it’d be an early night regardless since I have an 8:30 tomorrow morning.

My camera finally arrived today too. Well, my camera body to be exact. If I’d paid a little more attention, I would’ve instead gotten one with a lens but it’s a little late for that now. I’m half-excited about it. For one, it’s very pretty. But for another, I have to get a lens and that of course, requires me to reach into my pocket, something I’m not very fond of and shouldn’t be doing these days, what with all the typical moving-in expenses. I really do wonder though, what kind, if any, photos come out of a lensless camera. I’m not willing to blow a roll to find out though.

So, I shall close with a list of things I bite my thumb to:

– my Internet connection that has barely lasted five minutes the past three days
– the career fair today that was only good for its junk food and not its stationery
– my aforementioned cold and Kleenex, the company, for not offering me a lifetime supply because I need and deserve it
– the cost of every bloody thing out there today and my rapidly depleting savings which I can’t decide, makes me more sad or depressed
– my sociobio assignment that requires me to find an animal article rather than a human one
– my lack of an iPod or an mp3 player of any kind
– my profs for putting all their notes online and forcing me to either invest in a new ink cartridge or blow ridiculous amounts on my copy card (technology shall shoulder part of the blame too, for being so attractive and convenient that absolutely no one can pass it up)
– the 75% underaged first-year population that changed the face of university life
– smokers-globalwarming-thelackofworldpeace-despots-pashminas-conservativebastards-recedinggumlines-Freud-theartschoolthatrejectedHitler

8 responses

  1. Are you brainwashing freshmen?

    Colds in class are horrible :(
    I hope you feel better soon.

    I don’t know if it’s possible for cameras to function without lenses. I’m not really knowledgable with the technical side of them. But the thing is that without a lens, there is no shutter, so the shutter is therefore open(?) all the time, thereby exposing whatever film you put in? Maybe.

    September 22, 2005 at 1:11 am

  2. If you take a picture without the lens it will just be a very, very blurry (wah, so blur :P) picture! What kinda camera did you get?

    Also, it is nice to see that someone else dislikes pashminas.

    Get well soon, deary! I just got over a cold and it really is disgusting. I realise why those weird men in cars go around with the Vicks stick thing up their nose; it’s delightful.

    September 24, 2005 at 1:26 pm

  3. (wah, so blur :P)
    I haven’t heard anyone say that in like, 10 years!!!!!

    I got a Canon Elan 7. I’ve been eyeing the Elan 7E but well, this is cheaper and I can’t afford that much more right now.

    I can’t imagine why people stick their kids in pashminas. It’s so… so useless, and ugly!!!

    Do you mean the Vicks sticks? I think they make them in sticks? ‘Cause I’m imagining the jar of Vicks and I think shoving that up your nose is just well, impossible or odd.

    September 24, 2005 at 1:55 pm

  4. Hahaha, awww shucks. You haven’t been here in that long?

    Looks like a nice camera! It’s light, is it?

    These thingies:
    Sometimes when I am on the bus I look out the window and see little men shoving those things up their noses and leaving them there, like that, for the world to see! It is charming, to say the least. :P

    September 24, 2005 at 2:27 pm

  5. Ha, amusingly enough, I was in Singapore for about 13, 14 years!
    Perhaps they hadn’t invented those little sticks at that time!
    Are the men who shove them up their noses gross dirty little men?

    Yeah, the Elan is light!! Compared to this 16-year-old Minolta I had before, it’s like a marshmallow!

    September 24, 2005 at 4:17 pm

  6. Are you brainwashing freshmen?
    Well, yes and no. I’m a peer tutor for them, whatever that really means. We’ve yet to figure it out really.

    I hate colds. That cold wiped me out for 2 days! 2 days of not studying! The humanity!

    You’re probably right about the film being exposed all the time. I had no idea that there would be no shutter with no lens. Take me lens shopping when I come to Toronto? (well, in the sense that you know the places to go where there’s equipment)

    October 1, 2005 at 5:46 pm

  7. So you teach people things then? I can see how you could be part-brainwasher.

    Lens shopping? Me? Have you got the right person?! Ha ha. I can bring you to the Henrys outlet shop (where I got that price estimate from). Maybe before Saturday you can have some idea of why kind of lens you want / what’s compatible with that body (like, do you want more wide angle or zoom?).

    October 4, 2005 at 11:21 pm

  8. I’m actually teaching them skills, not so much “things” per say. I’m confused about my role!

    Yes, when I say you’re taking me lens shopping, I mean, you can take me to the places you go to (or know of) and I can figure out and perhaps/hopefully, buy me a lens!

    Wide angle means getting in more around you, right?

    October 5, 2005 at 3:17 pm

Leave a Reply

